First post and some workbench advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

haggisbasher

Established Member
Reaction score
Evening all
I am a noob who having recently gained a garage is looking to start putting together a shop. I am currently working my way through the back posts but I am looking for some quick advice.

I am looking to put together a mobile workstation based on an article in Practical Woodworking last year. The original used a solid oak block worktop to form the top and skirt. I have a 2m offcut of 40mm worktop which i was intending to use with an Oak or beech skirt. and a sacrificial top. I would like some advice on the best material for the top Hardboard, mdff or other and how to fix it if at all.

I would also like some advice on vices and placement. I have read that for right handers the vice should be on the left end but the article shows it on the right is there a convention? can you have enough vices?

The bench has to do multiple duty- handwork, assembly and support some power tools

many thanks

Tom

Hi Tom, welcome to the forum. I find the most useful arrangement for vices (if you are right-handed) is to have one on the front at the left-hand end of the bench, like this

view
[/url][/img]

And one at the right-hand end of the bench, like this

view
[/url][/img]

If you buy vices with a built-in dog (mine are Record #52D), you can drill holes in the top of the bench for dogs which enable you to clamp work on the bench top between the dogs. I use the Veritas dogs like these

view
[/url][/img]

Hope this is of some help.

Cheers :wink:

Paul