First lathe attempts

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

al3ph

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Thought I'd post some pictures of the first batch of work with my lathe.

I'm a total newbie to this, so don't expect any masterpieces :)

The wood is mostly from my oak logstore (firewood), which is very handy for learning on, though it can be a bit hard to turn.

I also had some slightly green hazel and other mystery wood (probably chestnut), this stuff is great fun, the shavings just peal off in long strings.

I've got an axminster AW1416VS, and the K10 chuck and various assorted tools.

I've also been experimenting with various finishes, friction polish/finishing oil/cellulose.

So far it's been very enjoyable, though I've noticed my wrist has been rather sore, probably bad technique holding the chisel.

I've found bowls to be the most fun to make, though roughing out green wood might just beat it.

al

Attachments

• P1010868.JPG
    P1010868.JPG
    215.4 KB · Views: 1,267
  • P1010869.JPG
    P1010869.JPG
    195.9 KB · Views: 1,267
  • P1010870.JPG
    P1010870.JPG
    212.7 KB · Views: 1,267
  • P1010871.JPG
    P1010871.JPG
    149.9 KB · Views: 1,267
  • P1010872.JPG
    P1010872.JPG
    140.7 KB · Views: 1,267
  • P1010873.JPG
    P1010873.JPG
    210.8 KB · Views: 1,267
  • P1010874.JPG
    P1010874.JPG
    200.9 KB · Views: 1,267
al3ph":2nc9k3g0 said:
Hi all,

Lovely work, am not sure i believe its the first lathe work you have done,

Really beautiful, I can't wait to get my lathe and see what I can make. I don't think it will be as perfect as your work.

Hi

No2 shallow bowl / platter looks very well produced

In time you will develop well