EZ Smart Guide / Festool Guide. Are there any others?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slarti42uk

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All

I'm looking into ordering the EZ Smart guide system from the states but I wanted to see if there are any alternatives closer to home. I mention Festool in the subject mainly to say that I've seen, I like, I have no chance of affording!

I am a beginner/hobbyist. I do have a circular saw I'm very happy with (Makita 5704RK) and a router (Ryobi ERT 1500VN I think) so I'm looking for a system to use with this kit.

Looking at the videos and photos on the site this system looks great.

Can anyone suggest any others or is this the best option?

I'm not going to say that this is better than the others mentioned becasue I have never tried it, but mafell also do a guiderail system.

The other option is to make your own, that would save you a pile of money.

Not sure who but someone on the forum has already done this I think.

For other systems take a look at Bosch, Mafell and Makita (who've recently introduced an innovative new system). I have the Bosch and it's so-so, mainly because there have been problems with the saw (model GKS68B - now withdrawn). The Bosch rail system is no better than, but also no worse than the Festool, having used both. The Mafell stuff looks interseting, especially as some of their saws come with the sort of febce you can use for cutting shadow/expansion joints in laminate flooring - and having looked at their stuff I'd say it's as well neiled together as anything that Festool make.

Scrit

I can't suggest any other options, but I can't imagine you'd be disappointed with the EZ system, I have it, as do several others on here and can't praise it enough (although there is plenty of that on the forum already if you do a search :lol: ).

Good luck with whatever you decide.

V.