End Seal for seasoning wood for turning

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SteveBartley

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I’m new to seasoning my own wood. I’m fortunate in being able to access supplies of various green wood, some may have been felled a couple of years but never logged. I’ve come across 2 products, Chestnut End Seal and Osmo End Sealing Wax. Any thoughts on using these or other products you would recommend.

Nope none of that harry potter wizardry involved Steve ,just a case of seal the ends and hope for the best ,the wood gods will decide the outcome:)

If you want to use the wood for bowls, you may want to try 2 part turning. Cut rough, seal thoroughly with PVA and leave to dry. It will warp a bit, but you can then turn a second time to finish.

Several benefits of this method. Cracking is much less severe (especially for bits with interesting grain). Far quicker - bowl can be finished in 6 months, whereas a 6"thick plank will take many years to dry. Green wood is much softer and easier to turn for the bulk roughing out. Also less of a storage problem as you get rid of 90% of the waste at the beginning!

What species are you using? Time and likeliness of cracking can vary hugely.

There is a similar and recent thread running in the woodturning-lathes section below this one. "sealing with wax".

If you want to use the wood for bowls, you may want to try 2 part turning. Cut rough, seal thoroughly with PVA and leave to dry. It will warp a bit, but you can then turn a second time to finish.