Driving standards

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

M P Hales

Established Member
Reaction score
As an hgv driver I have noticed over the last couple of years that the standard of driving and consideration for other road users has fallen dramatically.
The recent bad weather has highlighted the the vast majority of drivers have no idea how to handle the vehicle they are supposed to be in charge of or to allow for the size and weight of the vehicle they are "cutting up"
If a 38 tonne truck is on an icy road it can't stop on a sixpence (2 1/2p in new money) how do people expect to reach retirement age?

It would appear that on motorways the highway code has changed for the junction distance markers

/// is "Oh s**t is that my junction"
// is "got to get from lane3 to lane 1 NOW"
/ is"O s**t,standing traffic - hit the brakes - hope for the best"

Please allow extra room on the roads in the bad weather- my children would like me to come home after work
(don't think the wifes that bothered but thats another thread)

Take care out there

M

PS sorry about the rant but had a bad shift

Could you stop over taking each other on the M11 and taking 12 miles to do it. Can you not see the jams you cause?

Don't visit M11
work up North (thats above Watford gap)
Problem is limiters on trucks not all being set to same speed
Just as frustrating for HGV drivers as car drivers but we don't have the option to use lane 3
M

M P Hales":e61hctai said:
Just as frustrating for HGV drivers as car drivers but we don't have the option to use lane 3
M
You need to visit us in the midlands then. Our HGV drivers seem to think it is ok to use the 3rd lane. In the last month i think i have seen 6 HGV's use it. One driver even just went straight into the 3rd lane without indicating, nearly taking the front end of my car with him :twisted: