Dovetail a Day

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mn pete

Established Member
Reaction score
Has anyone else taken this plan on? I just started yesterday in an effort to build on my handtool skills. These are pretty fun to do and are a great way to spend some time focusing and thinking.

Here are my Day One efforts.

http://secondwindworkshop.blogspot.com/ ... tails.html

Attachments

• DT Day1_015.JPG
    DT Day1_015.JPG
    88.1 KB · Views: 404
Hi Pete, I'm a little suprised to no comments.
I am no expert, but I do recall being taught that the weight of the spine on a Tenon saw helped to give a vertical cut. Therefore when cutting dovetails the board should be rotated in the vice to so that the saw ran vertically in making the cuts. This means that less work is required by the to keep the saw kerf to the line. Obviously the board would need moving for the other side of the tails.
HTH
xy

Pete

Like the idea and I'll use it myself when I go back in the workshop once the weather warms up as I want to make a few dovetailed pieces this year.

Nice idea and an interesting link, Pete. Must try that myself. Not your first dovetails, I`d guess, but I hope you`ll post some updates from time to time, so we can see your progress!

Ian

I think they look great, I still enjoy cutting dovetails today as much as I did when my Grandfather taught me some 35 years ago. We practised dovetail cutting at college on a daily basis for a week or two when I was learning and still believe practise makes perfect. Keep up the good work and Blog.
I made this video a couple of years ago demonstrating lapped dovetails, having just watched it again I find that some of my techniques and tools have changed but that’s the fun thing about woodworking its always moves on.

http://www.peterseftonfurnitureschool.c ... ng_videos/

Happy Dovetail cutting Peter