DIY plane for making simple grooves - advice needed

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Denis

Established Member
Reaction score
First, since this is my first post here, let me introduce myself - my name is Denis (male), and I'm a freelance translator from Croatia.

I've only got interested in woodworking a few months ago, in a roundabout way - via photography, my first hobby. I use analog (film-based) cameras, and lately I've been shooting mostly with ancient large format wooden cameras, which sometimes need small repairs and adaptations - thus some knowledge of woodworking was required :)

I also made some simple wooden boxes for storing my large format lenses, and it really got me interested in woodworking. My main interest is box making...

I got some "tailed" tools, but wasn't really happy with them - I mean, woodworking is a hobby for me, and I detest the noise and dust those tailed tools make - I'd rather use hand tools and work in relative silence. The tailed router is particularly annoying :(

Thus, it wasn't long before I found this forum.

I've been reading older posts here a lot - mostly on hand planes, and also admiring the planes made by Philly and others, and it wasn't long before I got some "proper" tools - cheap plane variants and knock-offs mostly, since Stanley, LV, LN and other planes are virtually unknown here - but wooden planes can still be found new in stores (sometimes).

Here's a quick shot of part of my "arsenal" so far..

plane-arsenal1.jpg

Finally, to my question - I'm about to try to make same wooden planes myself. After seeing all the wonderful planes the members here make, the next step was to buy some books (Finck's and Hack's), get some blades made and get some wood :)

One of the first planes I intend to make is probably not a good idea for the first DIY plane, but I'd like to try it, nevertheless.