• We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

DEWALT DW125 Radial Arm Saw thermal protection switch replacement

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

RichT

Member
Joined
17 Feb 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
12
Location
North Yorkshire
Hi, I have a Dewalt DW125 radial arm saw and it cut out on me so I checked everything and the Thermal protection switch is not working, I have tried all over the place to get a replacement but they are discontinued. I can't be the only person who has had this problem, I am just hoping someone on here can help.

thanks
Richard.
 

eribaMotters

Established Member
Joined
12 Feb 2010
Messages
333
Reaction score
87
Location
Formby, Merseyside
Hi, I have a Dewalt DW125 radial arm saw and it cut out on me so I checked everything and the Thermal protection switch is not working, I have tried all over the place to get a replacement but they are discontinued. I can't be the only person who has had this problem, I am just hoping someone on here can help.

thanks
Richard.
It is a generic switch. Mine failed 8/10 years ago and I sourced one of e-bay from memory.

Colin
 

RichT

Member
Joined
17 Feb 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
12
Location
North Yorkshire
Yes, it is a KLIXIN CET67DB it has -3026 and M3S on it. I have also attached a photo of the webpage where it is but can't find anywhere on there to buy it,

It won't let me put the web address in my post

thanks
Richard.
 

Attachments

eribaMotters

Established Member
Joined
12 Feb 2010
Messages
333
Reaction score
87
Location
Formby, Merseyside
I am not electronically minded so I have no idea of what to buy.

thanks
The wires are on spade fittings so you can easily take the switch out. Make sure you wrap a bit of masking tape around each wire and write on it which terminal it goes to. Next take lots of photos and start searching the internet.
I just typed "radial arm saw switch" into Bing and it came up with this DeWalt Switch For Radial Arm Saw Dw1251 Dw1501 Dw720 Dw1751 861385-04 - Part Shop Direct
It is expensive as it's an original part, but with a bit more searching you should be able to come up with something at a sensible price.

Colin

My uncle uses TLC for such bits:-
TLC Electrical Supplies (tlc-direct.co.uk)
 
Last edited:

powertools

Established Member
Joined
7 Jun 2011
Messages
1,731
Reaction score
109
Location
Bedfordshire
I have a DW125 that I have had for over 35 years and the thermal switch has never cut out in all that time.
I wonder if something else is wrong causing the switch to fail.
 

bourbon

Established Member
Joined
3 Jun 2014
Messages
661
Reaction score
93
Location
Lichfield Staffordshire
The wires are on spade fittings so you can easily take the switch out. Make sure you wrap a bit of masking tape around each wire and write on it which terminal it goes to. Next take lots of photos and start searching the internet.
I just typed "radial arm saw switch" into Bing and it came up with this DeWalt Switch For Radial Arm Saw Dw1251 Dw1501 Dw720 Dw1751 861385-04 - Part Shop Direct
It is expensive as it's an original part, but with a bit more searching you should be able to come up with something at a sensible price.

Colin

My uncle uses TLC for such bits:-
TLC Electrical Supplies (tlc-direct.co.uk)
How Much! That's just taking the proverbial.
 

RichT

Member
Joined
17 Feb 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
12
Location
North Yorkshire
The wires are on spade fittings so you can easily take the switch out. Make sure you wrap a bit of masking tape around each wire and write on it which terminal it goes to. Next take lots of photos and start searching the internet.
I just typed "radial arm saw switch" into Bing and it came up with this
It is expensive as it's an original part, but with a bit more searching you should be able to come up with something at a sensible price.

Colin


It is not the on/off switch it is the thermal protection switch, the thermal cut-out switch

Richard.
 

RichT

Member
Joined
17 Feb 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
12
Location
North Yorkshire
I have a DW125 that I have had for over 35 years and the thermal switch has never cut out in all that time.
I wonder if something else is wrong causing the switch to fail.

No I got the blade stuck and didn't turn it off quick enough it cut out and the cut out doesn't work now.

Richard.
 

Danieljw

Those that never make mistakes, never made anythin
Joined
21 Oct 2020
Messages
41
Reaction score
30
Location
Spain
No I got the blade stuck and didn't turn it off quick enough it cut out and the cut out doesn't work now.

Richard.
Mine also clicked out once.. and was very hard to click back in, I put a piece of wood on the top and pressed real hard.. then it clicked in... perhaps yours is the same.
Give it a try.. get brutal
 

Retired

Established Member
Joined
24 Jun 2012
Messages
185
Reaction score
197
Location
Fenay Bridge. Huddersfield.
Hi,

Colin, it is the reset button that doesn't work and I am trying to replace :)

Richard.
Sorry Richard my misunderstanding. Could you by-pass the switch and install a DOL starter which would still give motor protection.

Hopefully pressing the button harder as suggested by Danieljw will work; if not are you sure the motor is still OK if it isn't it could be the cause of not resetting?

I'm busy so not had chance to read all the thread.

Good luck.

Kind regards, Colin.

DeWalt RAS_0002.JPG


Just to avoid confusion I take it this is the reset that is faulty; I've just taken the pictures of ny DeWalt RAS.

DeWalt RAS_0003.JPG


The reason I assumed you meant the on/off switch is because my on/off switch failed and not wanting to play around chasing a replacement I simply removed it and wired in a remote latching on/off station.

DeWalt RAS_0004.JPG


Here's the new on/off button station located in a safe convenient position just under the saw table top; I must add though it was the on/off switch that failed on my saw so the overload protection reset still is operational. If you have lots of problems and the motor is indeed fine then one option is to install a DOL starter but you'll need to by-pass the reset; a DOL starter will still give motor protection but the starter will need to match the Full Load Amps of the motor. I'm fully retired but am struggling for time. Please be careful playing with mains electricity it will kill given the slightest chance.
 

Danieljw

Those that never make mistakes, never made anythin
Joined
21 Oct 2020
Messages
41
Reaction score
30
Location
Spain
Yup, that's the button... it is as hard as you can imagine to press that pipper down....
But it will click!
 

RichT

Member
Joined
17 Feb 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
12
Location
North Yorkshire
Hi,



Sorry Richard my misunderstanding. Could you by-pass the switch and install a DOL starter which would still give motor protection.

Hopefully pressing the button harder as suggested by Danieljw will work; if not are you sure the motor is still OK if it isn't it could be the cause of not resetting?

I'm busy so not had chance to read all the thread.

Good luck.

Kind regards, Colin.

View attachment 103851

Just to avoid confusion I take it this is the reset that is faulty; I've just taken the pictures of ny DeWalt RAS.

View attachment 103852

The reason I assumed you meant the on/off switch is because my on/off switch failed and not wanting to play around chasing a replacement I simply removed it and wired in a remote latching on/off station.

View attachment 103853

Here's the new on/off button station located in a safe convenient position just under the saw table top; I must add though it was the on/off switch that failed on my saw so the overload protection reset still is operational. If you have lots of problems and the motor is indeed fine then one option is to install a DOL starter but you'll need to by-pass the reset; a DOL starter will still give motor protection but the starter will need to match the Full Load Amps of the motor. I'm fully retired but am struggling for time. Please be careful playing with mains electricity it will kill given the slightest chance.

Oh I can assure you I am careful, I have been in the construction industry for 30 years and have seen some horrible accidents with electricity. I wont mess with re-wiring parts, I am ok bypassing and testing things like this but fitting different switches with builtin thingys is way out of my leauge. I just cant find anyone to fix it locally with bloody Covid.

thanks
 
Top