Design & Technology in schools

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Keith 66

Established Member
Reaction score
I am a workshop technician in a secondary school, i work with some great people & most of the kids are great too.
The other day we had an exibition of final projects that the year 11 kids had made, great event & really positive.
But im finding myself getting very disillusioned with it.
Our school is a newly built academy ( built by a major service provider) We have poorly designed workshops with mostly dreadful quality equipment unless it was left over from the old school
Our funding has been slashed yet again to the point ii am often reduced to raiding skips for materials.
Making time is far less than it was & in most cases the kids cant gain the skills to make good quality products.
The other day teacher asked me about composites & could i get some samples, now i have done more than a fair bit of this in a previous life & said i would get some samples," Oh we only need some carbon fibre I can only teach them about what the exam requires".
Now i have a huge amount of respect for a great teacher but i was a bit disheartened at this.
When i look back at what we learnt & made at school in the 1970's i am saddened at the state of practical subjects today.
It often seems as if technicians knowledge & skills are regarded as worthless.
Be interested to hear others views on the state of the subject