Couple 'teach themselves' to build a timber framed house???!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Skeptical on roof and chimney stack - that is a complex roof to tile and the bwk on the stack has not been done by a beginner.
But it is the Daily Mail, so a certain amount of salt will be required.

Brian

There's a lot of weasel words and contradictions in that.

I suspect it's a typical self-build, with a mixture of own-labour, self taught skills (books + internet + practice are powerful)
+ hired tradesman.

BugBear

Grayorm":2i9s7gob said:
I'm a tad skeptical about this. What are your thoughts guys? 'Builders' put the frames up and they did the rest between them.....they say.
I can't see any reason to disbelieve this article, despite who's printing it.
Learning enough to do a competent, often very good work, just takes determination, effort and reasonable hand to eye co-ordination.
I learnt a different variation of a similar range of skills when I restored by last house; swapping wattle and daub for plastering, slating and zinc work for tiling. Plumbing, electrics and decorating are all pretty straight forward.

Rhossydd":1g9fqbgi said:
Grayorm":1g9fqbgi said:
I'm a tad skeptical about this. What are your thoughts guys? 'Builders' put the frames up and they did the rest between them.....they say.
I can't see any reason to disbelieve this article, despite who's printing it.
Learning enough to do a competent, often very good work, just takes determination, effort and reasonable hand to eye co-ordination.
I learnt a different variation of a similar range of skills when I restored by last house; swapping wattle and daub for plastering, slating and zinc work for tiling. Plumbing, electrics and decorating are all pretty straight forward.