circular saw

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

moon

Reaction score
Hey guys :)

Im thinking about getting a circular saw and guide. I would use it for cutting doors and panels to length (providing has good finish cut), and would also use it to rip boards down.

I have had a look through the forum archive and it seems everyone likes the festool at about £400 (TS55 i believe it is), thing is tho i am not a professional so it would be for my own projects which makes me wonder if its worth it or not? (i am a keen woodworker though)

So i was wondering what advice you can give me.

I dont have room for a table saw etc so this would be ideal. Im open to the festool but perhaps there is something cheaper available that would do the trick? Or do you get what you pay for so to speak?

If there is a cheaper option then i would make my own guide (seen a few good threads about it), but whats the best option saw wise?

All advice welcome

moon

Don't know anyone who's bought the TS55 and regretted it. Other plunge saws are the Makita, DeWalt and Mafell, in ascending price. I think Bosch may make a cheaper one that runs on a guide, but doesn't plunge??

I have the Festool, have used the DeWalt and Mafell, and 'played with' the Makita. This was after I'd bought mine, so it was more out of curiosity than with a view to purchasing, and TBH they all do a similar job with slight variations. The max. depth of cut is the same on all the current models; I seem to remember someone on here (Karl?) had the DeWalt but swapped it for a Makita, and I think he did a mini-review of it - you can probably turn it up with a search.

<runs to check> - yes, Karl's review was tacked onto this thread:- makita-guide-rails-now-with-review-t45087.html