chuck help

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

christofloffer

Reaction score
hi folks, i am new to world of turning so bear with me. i have a couple of lathes, one which i picked up for free which is a larger bench top sort (a Woodman i think) and i recently picked up a Hobbymat smaller one. the Hobbymat i just bought came with a chuck but i cant figure it out. i have sussed out how to open and close it (the rear plate spins to adjust the jaws) and how to remove the jaws (rear plate can pull out to allow the jaws to slide) but i cant see any way to lock the jaws or to give it some bite.
i assumed there would be a quick adjustment then a screw somewhere to tighten it up properly. however i cant see anything of the sort.
also i cant see any way to lock up the back plate. it has a couple of allen screws that stop the plate from pulling back and loosening the jaws but they down stop the plate from rotating.
i tried to see if hand tight was enough but as you can guess it is not. it is not helped by the way that as soon as there is nothing to it to push against the spin of the lathe throws the jaws out wide.
the chuck is a WMW Niles DHW 125x4 any help with this would be great as i really want to use the chuck for a few projects.

it also has a hollow spindle but the sizes dont match any tapers i could find. i measured them with a micrometer and the big end measures 15mm/0.591" and the small end (right back at the pulley) is 12.8mm/0.504" but i cant see any info on if that is actually meant to be a taper of if its just a hollow spindle. i was hoping to be able to use a spur drive, i have ordered one which fits in a chuck but a proper taper one would be great.

thanks for reading and any help is really appreciated.

Lathes & co show no mention of a Woodman lathe.

I thought the Hobbymat was a metal lathe but I see they also do a wood version.