Chuck for Major

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jaypee

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, as you can see I am a day old newbie so apologies now if I am posting in the wrong place or not following protocol, please put me right if so. I have just spent the last few months completely renovating a Coronet Major, a maroon beast from 1974. It started as a strip down to clean job and ended up as a back to bare metal and repaint full on restoration! There was quite a collection of attachments with it and they have all had the same treatment, which was a marathon. Anyway it is now finished and ready to go to work but I could really do with a chuck. It has the 7/8" x 16tpi spindle thread which I know is an oddball size but was wondering if anyone has a chuck of this size to sell, not too worried what as long as it works. I would love to splash out on a Sorby Patriot or similar but my 'hobby allowance fund' has taken a severe beating lately with new blades, belts, paint etc etc. and this not an option for now. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
I do have a photo copy of the original manual and some illustrated parts price lists for the Major which have been invaluable for identifying all the parts. If any Coronet owners would like a copy of these I would be more than happy to scan, copy, email, post or carrier pigeon to you.
Other machines I have include a Harrison Union Jubilee (rescued from a school 25 years ago before the scrapman came to collect) which is still in original paint and looks all of its 40-50 years but still works great, and a Grayson 3 1/2" metal lathe from the late 30's which has also had the full resto. My 'thing' is making wooden gear clocks but I am now running out of wall space and have been asked to make some bowls and other turned items by friends and family so hence the need for a chuck.