Chisel tearout

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stoatyboy

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi - bit of a numpty newbie question would appreciate advice from those with the 'knowledge' (that's you lot!!)

Hand dovetails, saw the angles, fretsaw out the waste (leave about 1-2mm above the line), chisel out the rest of the waste (this is the bit where the pins will go so the bit between the tails) and instead of a nice flat base it seems that the chisel sort of levers out a lump of wood thats broken off below the line.

hard to describe but it's almost like it's pulling out a tooth with the roots. the outside edges are fine but inside the joint is a cavity.

chisel as sharp as I can get it. wood is 10mm thick pine.

is it the wood. me or the sharpening - or all of these?

all advice, as ever, highly welcome

Pete

Just a newbie here as well, but i've found a lower angle sometimes cut better in softwoods like pine.
It's also very prone to tearout almost no matter what you do, so the best advice for dovetails would actually be to use one of the "cheap" hardwoods. (At least that's what i've picked up here :) )

Thanks Henning - didn't want to use hardwood for my first chest of drawers as assumed it would be more expensive and difficult to work.

shows how much I know!!

I think i'll persevere as it doesn't show on the outside - but it just bugged me - I bet it doesn't happen to Rob Cosman!

Pete

stoatyboy":kz346h8j said:
chisel as sharp as I can get it. wood is 10mm thick pine.

is it the wood. me or the sharpening - or all of these?

Pete
Strangely, pine is quite hard to work with for accurate chiseling as it has alternate very hard and soft growth rings. You generally need a super sharp blade honed at a lowish angle, around 25deg. My guess is that you may think your edge is sharp but it's probably not sharp enough :wink: - Rob