Cellulose Sanding Sealer

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Saint Simon

Established Member
Reaction score
As a finishes beginner I have only just discovered cellulose sanding sealer. Up until now its been all hard wax oil and waxes. However, recently I have been very happy with the finished results on small pine boxes of just a coat of CSS applied with a brush which I then rubbed down lightly with very fine sand paper. Its quick, feels good to the fingers and has a nice look. But it feels too easy.
How am I going to come unstuck please?
Simon

Saint Simon":16nfcod3 said:
..How am I going to come unstuck please?
Simon
Only by sanding through the sealed surface in places and ending up with a blotchy surface if you apply a paste wax or similar.

If you are sanding to de-nib excessive raised grain you may need to give another coat to ensure a sealed finish.

A burnished Cellulose Sealer skin finished with a hard wax is all I use on nine out of ten pieces.

Look at my Bits & Pieces link or This pamphlet

Don't use sandpaper Simon, just de-nib with 0000 wire wool and you should be fine. It's a great product in my view and although like many I have been thinning it a bit with cellulose thinners a professional turner recently advised me to use it neat so that's what I'll be doing on my next project.

The reason I use sanding sealer is to prevent grain raising when applying a waterbased finish.

If you are using an oil or solvent based finish you can use steel wool.

The tiny particles of steel wool left behind will flash rust and bloom in a waterbased finish.

The solution is to use a "Non woven hand pad", these look remarkably like a scouring pad, but they come in different colours.

A small piece of this can be use quite a few times before it wears out, but it does fill with dust so you have to keep cross contamination in mind.