Cast Iron Care

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ByronBlack

Established Member
Reaction score
Ok, so i've decided to keep 'el-rusto' and now have to give it a good clean up before I do my proper setup of it.

Other than some wet-n-dry and elbow grease, what are the standard measures for removing rust (especially in hard to reach area's) and how should I then move onto prevention and care in terms of waxing/oiling etc..

Basically, with the partial refund i've received I would like to spend that on goods/jigs/cloths etc suitable for the general maintenance and use of a planer thicknesser, any idea's welcome, i'm a complete newb to large machinery so I need a few pointers here.. i'm slightly dreading the setup!

Byron

Hope you have many years of good use from it mate!

I tried using a wax polish on the tablesaw but that failed miserably on the rust prevention front. next day, there was surface rust :cry:

I used camelia oil and no rust since I got the saw - only applied camelia once so far

Do a serch with rust + prevention in the GW forum and you'll get all the information you need.

I would second the use of Liberon Lubricating Wax, I use it on all of the machines I have, cast iron and aluminum. The other thing that helps is trying to keep the humidity down, I bought a dehumidifier from Wickes, makes a big difference in the shop.

I'll third the use of Liberon Lubricating Wax. Really makes things glide across the tables.

Adam

Hi Byron