Calllig MIGNAL

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cegidfa

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi there, As a matter of interest, I notice that your avatar is very similar to mine. Would it be a lute perchance?

Regards.....Dick.

Hi. Yes it is a Lute Rose, based on the Venere. The only Lute I've ever made.

Hello MIGNAL,
My avatar is the rose of the progenitor of the lute - the Arab Oud.
I first heard one played by Anouar Brahem on the cd Barzakh, and fell in love with the sound.
Having made a guitar many years ago, I feel drawn to constructing an oud, but it seems more akin to boat building, on a very small scale. May I ask how you created the rib joining angles?
I wonder, are you, like me, coming from a guitar playing background, and therefore wanting to play the finished instrument; or was it as a woodworking exercise?

Regards....Dick

I'm a pro Guitar maker but the Lute was made for me to play. I sold it within a couple of months of completion, so that was the end of that. These days I tinkle around on a Baroque Guitar.
I don't know a great deal about Ouds but I think I'm correct in stating that the bowl is based on a semi circle. Not so with most Lutes, they have a flattened profile which makes each rib different - including the angle of each joint.
If it's based on a semi circle the easiest way is to make the 'orange segment'. Clamp the rib to the segment and plane it down so that it ends a little proud. That gets the rib close but far from exact. Final jointing can either be done on the mould or on an upside down long plane - pretty much the way that Coopers join their staves. In fact some Lute makers mount the plane on a large wooden board, the cutting iron projecting through a 'mouth' on that very board.