built in wardrobes

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chief

Established Member
Reaction score
hi, :D

i am making some built in wardrobes out of veneered mdf, the wardrobes are the length of the wall. I plan to make three separate wardrobes a then screw the wardrobes together, as you would do with say three kitchen units that sit next to each other.

The wardrobe will be made up of two sides, top and bottom (all 18mm veneered mdf), and a back (4mm mdf), all of which will be screwed together. Then i plan to screw battens to the two sides to support shelves.

I am not a chippy by trade and i have a few questions if you don't mind answering them. :oops:

1. To join the two sides, top, and bottom, is it just a case of screwing the mdf together butt joint style?

2. I have been advised to use 3.5 x 45mm screws to screw together the wardrobes, but i am finding it hard to get any so would it be ok to use say 4 x 45mm instead? or what other screws would you suggest?

3. What size battens should i use to support the shelves?

4. What size screws should i use to screw the shelves support battens to the sides?

5. As i am using veneered mdf oviously i don't want to paint the mdf, so it it a case of just sealing the exposed mdf edges? And what should i use to seal the mdf edges?

6. What would you advise for finishing off the exposed mdf edges, veneer or a hardwood trim? i am inclined to use a hardwood trim but you trade boys will know which is better to go for.

Sorry for so many questions but the materials are expensive i don't want to make a very costly mistake. :roll:

All advice welcome

Hi Chief,
I have done a fair number of built ins similar to yours.
For the joints of the sides to the top and bottom, I usually butt joint and screw them.
The screws I use are called 'Confirmat' Screws,
Here is a pic :
264.53.092D1.gif