• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to UK Workshop and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member or just click here to donate.

Wanted Brush Cutter (Regarding my previous topic: 'Strimmer')

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mikegtr

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Many thanks for all your the advice on my previous thread: 'Strimmer'. Due to the advice given I need a brush cutter--not a strimmer, mainly ground elder / thistles / brambles. A strimmer not powerful enough. I am not a pro gardener--our garden about the size of a tennis court.
My question is: There is a big choice of brush cutters out there to choose from. Recommendations of make?

Take a look on eBay 2nd hand Stihls are good and most can take a brush cutter blade as opposed just nylon twine.
I bought an ex authority one from a dealer in Wales a few years back and it is still going strong and from memory under £200

really depends on how much u have cut.....area......
plus does it have small tree's n bushes or just heavy grass and brambles.....
all makes a difference.....

If I we’re buying now, I’d get one of the Makita battery powered ones, as I have the batteries already.

However I’ve been very happy with my Husqvarna petrol brush cutter. It’s made short work of everything I’ve thrown at it. It’s in need of a tune up now, but it has always run well.

I’m going to sell it, as I no longer have need for a big machine.

For anyone who’s got or thinking of getting a petrol garden tool, try using Aspen fuel. It looks expensive but will easily save money on equipment servicing. Cannot recommend it highly enough