Bread

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve Maskery

Established Member
Reaction score
Well I figured that if I do post my soda bread recipe as Bob requested, then there could well be a rush of replies, all noting to do with BBQ sauce, so I thought I'd start a separate thread.

I've been making bread for nearly 40 years. For many years I did it all by hand, but eventually bought a bread-maker. TBH it did a better job, because it kneaded the dough for longer.
Anyway after about 10 years the machine went pop and I bought a direct replacement. It is branded Anthony Worral-Thompson. Whatever happened to him, eh? silly person.

Although it's essentially the same machine, made by the same company (Breville) the programmes are not the same, and I've never been able to get the same results, so I use it to make the dough first and then set to bake separately. I usually use:

300g water
170g granary flour
170g strong wholemeal
140g strong white
Good big knob of Stork margarine. I used to use butter, but marg does a better job.
A small palm of salt. No idea how much that is, but it works.
A small palm of sugar. Ditto.Probably a couple of teaspoons, I guess. Next time I bake I'll try to measure it and edit this post.
1 ball of frozen yeast

NB. The specific flour you use will determine the amount of water you need. Ignore the recipe on the machine, you have to get to know your flours. If it it comes out cratered, which is a common problem, use less water, or more flour, or stronger flour, or a bit of all three.

This is the result:

F7JAWUJHSM54GZA.MEDIUM.jpg