Brand new Lathe has some wobble

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

g7g7g7g7

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm new to this, just finished my first wee bowl, the lathe has a slight wobble, most noticeable when using the chuck, I really don't want the expense of sending this thing back on a pallet (£50+) for repairs or replacement, especially if it's within normal tolerances and they don't do anything to fix it.

It's still useable, I initially just thought I was feeling the grain difference as it turned it hasn't stopped me from making my first bowl anyway.

Any thoughts, is this a problem with the machine, is it to be expected?

IMG_2284.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_2284.jpg
    IMG_2284.jpg
    107.3 KB · Views: 1,973
There should be no wobble, just ring Record directly and talk to their technical department.

They will diagnose it and either send parts or arrange collection. (thats what they did with my poorly grinder)

As Blister enquired, where is the wobble.

• 1. Spindle without anything mounted.
    2. Chuck body when mounted on spindle.
    3. Accessory jaws in chuck body.
    4. Blank when mounted on socket or spigot.

We need to know a great deal more before talking remedies.
  • 1. Is Not acceptable.
    2. Sort out why chuck is not running true and seating correctly.
    3. Check for correct location of carriers and accessory jaws.
    4. A very normal hazard encountered when wood compresses more one way than another when mounted, especially if a lot of pressure is applied.
    Check socket or spigot is of optimum size and correct depth to give maximum support to suit accessory jaws.

Good advice above. I'm a relative newbie and I had a lot of problems with vibration when I started out until I learned how to mount the work in a chuck properly and also to turn at low speed until the blank is balanced.