Bookcase Build

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deanflyer

Established Member
Reaction score
Im looking to build a large wall mounted bookcase, about 10 ft wide and 8 ft high. For stability, what is the best material to make it out of?

Also I'd like to face (lip??) the front. I've never done this before so any tips would be very welcome!

What would be the best joints to use for this. I was thinking of having the uprights running full length and then routing out a rebate to slide the horizontal shelves in?

All advice welcome!

Many Thanks,

Dean

10' x8' is a pretty big bookcase. Possibly best as three bays wide with shelves no more than a metre unsupported.

Sounds like you are wanting to use man made boards if you are talking of lipping?

Veneered ply is getting harder to get and the alternative veneered MDF is very heavy and is less strong. Not sure which will sag most under combined weight of books and the shelf itself.

Search for an application called sagulator to help choose the thickness of your shelves.

You might want to use lipping that is thicker than the shelves and fit it on the back edge as well to stiffen up the shelves. Maintain alignment during glue up with biscuits or use tongue and groove for the same purpose

Sliding dovetails are good for bookcases with fixed spacing shelves as they hold the sides together and need no visible fixings

If you want adjustable shelves then the carcase sides need to be stiffer.

A backing sheet of veneered ply adds a lot of strength even if it is quite thin and stops the thing racking.

I've just had a quick play with the sagulator here http://www.woodbin.com/calcs/sagulator.htm

and it does not seem to allow for self weight of the shelf so I suggest you add some extra uniformly distributed load to represent the shelf. But I did note that ply is a whole lot stiffer than mdf.

Hope this helps

Bob