Big Triton (TRA001) Router - Which router table should I use

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mobanded

Reaction score
Hi

I am an enthusiastic amateur wishing to renew an interest in routing. Having recently bought the big Triton router I am now considering an appropriate table top to go with it and would welcome any advice.

This is my predicament - I can buy the Triton router table (RTA300) and the Tritan Stand (RSB300) for about £200 ish. Reality is I do not need a base unit and would prefer to build my own. However, I do not have the confidence (yet) to build an ACCURATE router table top with insert and would prefer a pro job with lots of lovely gadgets/jigs!

So, do I buy both Tritan products?; or, do I buy the Triton router table (RTA300) and fit it on my own base (information on whether I can or cannot do this seems to be scarce)?; or, finally, do I spend the £200 on a table top only, and if so I would welcome suggestions?

Thanks, in advance, for your help.

Regards
Ed

I use the large trioton router and mounted it in the New Yankee Workshop table design (drawings come form their website). Cost around £80 for all materials and it is big, flexible in use with loads of drawers etc. and steady.

A good solution

Would agree with Andy - except I wouldn't even worry about an insert. Spend the money on a Xtreme Xtensionand screw the router directly to the table - no concerns on cutting out the hole for the insert and getting it exactly level then. Your table can be as simple as 2 bits of MDF glued and screwed together. You can laminate it if you want but you don't have to.
See my effort here:
https://www.ukworkshop.co.uk/forums/view ... highlight=
You don't really need the mitre track either - there are generally better ways of making those sorts of cuts anyway.
Cheers
Gidon

gidon":8cop6s7d said: