Beginners Lathe

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brahma

Reaction score
Good afternoon everyone! I am new here and am looking for some advice and I wonder if anyone can help?

I am a fairly keen amateur woodworker and am looking to buy myslef a lathe. As is usual with most things, there is a large cost differential from one end of the market (circa £150 upto over £4000!) and being a total novice, I admit to being a bit confused. To be honest, I dont really want to spend loads - if its not something I enjoy, I dont want to have expensive equipment knocking around that I dont use so I really want to buy at the cheaper end of the market. The problem then is, if you buy a cheap lathe that isnt very good, the work you produce can be mediocre and that can put you off the hobby!

For example, are these lathes, available at Machine Mart any good? Clarke CWL1000 Wood Turning Lathe or should I be going for something like Record Power DML36SH 4 Speed Swivel Head Woodturning Lathe - or are both of these far to cheap to be worthwhile? What about Scheppach DMT450 445mm Wood Lathe 240V available from Screwfix?

Should I be looking at second hand? Would that be a better option? Are there any good website that sell second hand lathes?

I know this is a bit like "how long is a piece of string" and opinions are rather subjective, but I would be interested to hear your thoughts - oh and any tips for a beginner!!

I live in Dorset, in case there is anyone living around here that has something for sale!

Many thanks

Andy

I too am a novice lathe user but I think that for anyone to give you a relevant response they will need to know what type of turning you intend to do most.

Turning pens will warrant a different response to turning stair spindles or bowls.

Mick