Been lurking for a while......

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

archersam

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all, been lurking around here for a while picking up tips and hints with regards to many things particularly since I took on a new workshop just before Xmas so thought it was about time to come out of the closet and say hello.

I have been playing with making furniture in my spare time for quite a few years now and having been offered a good deal on a workshop decided to go commercial (but still part-time) just prior to Xmas.

Boxing day at 7am saw a complete empty shell being filled with tools and simple but sturdy benches the idea I got from here http://www.grampasworkshop.net/workbench.html being made out of LOTS of 4" x 2" that I had reclaimed from a skip on the industrial site that the unit is based on.

Since then I have installed an extraction system for the machines and a simple booth for finishing as having previously always worked outside I never realised how much the dust gets everywhere.

I use a Trend Air pro face mask that I got for Xmas and also bought a Jet AFS-1000 remote controlled air filtration system. These have been two of my best ever buys and although they don't help me make anything they help keep my lungs nice and clean.

I live about 45 mintues from the Kent Axminster store which is bad and good at the sametime. I always go with the plan to only buy something specific but end up walking away with something that I wanted but had not planned or budgeted to buy! Last time it was a floor standing radial arm pillar drill.

A lot of my machines would I guess be classified as hobby machines but as and when they need replacing I am sure I will find myself upgrading.