Battery Amps per Hour (Ah)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brianc

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I bought an electric trials bike yesterday for my 4 year old grandson. It was an impulse buy from an auction.

It came with two 9.0Ah 12v batteries, which are wired in series. They are swelled/bloated so I intend to replace them in case they burst, I have seen 12v batteries online with the exact same dimensions but with a much higher Ah rating.

Am I correct in thinking that the higher Ah means they will last longer? I don't want to fry the controller and/or motor :cool:

Screenshot 2022-10-14 at 14.52.49.png

I'm not a battery expert but I believe that yes, it means that they will last longer. However, you need to make sure that the replacements can handle the rate of discharge and any peaks. Discharging a battery faster than it's designed for can cause overheating and fires (might be what caused the bloating in the current ones). Also be careful if a different chemistry. I don't think a charger for a lead acid battery can be used on Li-ion ones.

I would imagine these are some form of lead acid cell given the likely discharge current? If that's the case I would caution that there are several varieties of them. On load to a first approximation it's a difference without a difference, but they have slightly different charging requirements, the final voltage varies. We're only talking a couple of hundred millivolts but it's enough to quickly kill the batteries if you get it wrong.

I'm going to make a blind guess that your existing batteries are either Y9-12 or NP9-12. The number before the hyphen gives the capacity so yes higher there is better assuming they are the same form factor. The number after the hyphen is the voltage, keep that at 12. The letters indicate the specific battery technology, don't change that.