Axminster mini lathe - hobby vs. trade

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

McAldo

Established Member
Reaction score
I just registered, hello everybody!
I am a complete beginner and looking for a mini lather I could move to the workbench every time I need turning (shed is tiny and badly ventilated, so I need to move it to a sheltered workbench outside).
I heard SIP and Draper are cheap but not that good, so I am considering axminster, and I read all I could about them here on the forum (and read Taunton's Complete Illustrated Guide to Turning a few times back to back)
If anybody has experience with Axminster lathes, or anyway feels like giving me some advice, I'd be really grateful.

I have found these three (Sorry can't post links:
jet-jet-jml-1014-mini-wood-lathe-prod362338/
axminster-hobby-series-ah-1218vs-woodturning-lathe-prod890273/
jet-jet-jwl-1220-woodturning-lathe-prod724867/

I am very tempted with the 'hobby' one. I understand that hobby is rated for 100 hours work per year, and trade (the jet ones) are 1000 hours per year.
Considering I am a full time dad with a full time job at night, realistically I won't be able to enjoy turning more than 8 hours per week. I'd like to make , among other things, woodwinds so the hollow tailstock on the hobby sounds particularly attractive.
Sizewise I could do with the 350mm/250mm swing of the small jet, considering I can fit an extension bed to any of them, but the 450mm/300mm swing of the other two is attractive. They all have 8tpi, I understand 16 is more common, not sure?

Could anybody tell me if the hobby could fit the bill, considering I cannot spend lots of time turning?
Aside of the rated hours, what's the difference between these lathes? On paper they sound so similar, aside of a £180 difference, surely there must be a reason.
Any other model you would advise considering?