Another walking stick

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrPhill

Cyber Heretic
Reaction score
I feel a little presumptuous doing a work-in-progress - I am self taught and and still learning. My method and techniques may be poor, and the stick may turn out to be a disaster, but I guess you can ignore the thread, or laugh at me, or even (best of all) point out where I could improve. I may also take a v e r y long time to finish the project as we are hoping to move house, and I am not a fast worker. With that out of the way, here is what I started with (photographed in what we call our 'rotting shed'):
1 rough log.JPG

First I trim it and flatten one side of the shaft, aligned with the axis of the stick. I do the flattening with a small axe:
2 trimmed.JPG

3 flat edge.JPG

Then I use the flat edge as a guide to flatten four faces to the shaft. I find an inch and a half a natural diameter to hold, so I squared the shaft off to two by two.
4 four flat edges.JPG

Shortened the stick and 'chamfered' the square edges of the shaft ready for rounding. Coated in PVA while I order a spoke-shave...
6 rounded.JPG

That is all for now........

Spokeshave arrived. What a fun tool. I wish I had bought one a lot earlier.... Slimmed down the shaft a little:
7 slimmed shaft, bark stripped.JPG

Now to start some shaping. My method is to stare at the stick for long periods, imagining the finished shape, and then remove some wood that definitely does not belong to the finished product. As I remove each bit the finished item comes into focus. This work is mainly done with mallet and chisel.

8 begin shaping 1.JPG

9 begin shaping 2.JPG

10 shaping.JPG

11 shaping.JPG

Now some tidying up. Mainly removing lumps from the stick that are not part of the carving. I said that I would be working slowly.....

BeforeAfter
IMG_2600.JPG
IMG_2617.JPG
IMG_2601.JPG
IMG_2615.JPG