Advice please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boomer

Established Member
Reaction score
Firstly hi there,
I really am out of my depth on here & feel a bit embarrased on asking the following question,well i've been having a go at making a few garden products for myself but it seems they've caught the eye of a few people,so i brought my self a sliding compound mitre saw 10" blade among other things my question is:
How do i get a 35 degree cut on it,i moved the rotary table to 35 but when it cut it was no where near the angle i wanted (its for legs on a bird table).

Any advice would be very good,& sorry about the daft question but im a total woodworking newbie :oops: .

Hi there boomer, It looks like your saw is out on it's measurement table but not to worry. Use a protractor or something that will give you the angle you require and rotate the blade to this setting and lock it off. This way you will know the angle is correct. Hope this helps. :wink:

Hi boomer,

Don't rely on the scale on the saw - they are often not accurate. Measure the angle, then make some test cuts.

Hope this helps.

Welcome to the forum.

Paul

The angles on mitre saws are measured from the fence, I suspect the angle you are actually after is 55degrees (35+55=90) there are only a few saws that will cut to this angle and then usually only to one side.

Are you cutting braces for the base like the pic, if so top cut will be 55degs, botton 35degs

angles.jpg

Jason

Hi Boomer,
Welcome to the forum. I'm sure you'll get the definitive answer from someone soon, personally I'm not much of an expert on the mitre saw. What is "miles out" in your book :?:

My saw is a cheapo & is often 1 or even 2 degrees out :(