Advice on making pens for a craft fair

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jensmith

Established Member
Reaction score
It's my Dad's birthday today and I made him a letter opener. To cut a long story short my Mum asked if I would be interested in making some pens for a craft fair they're doing for Christmas.

I'm interested in doing it but want to see if it's worthwhile first. It's not worth while if I can't make a profit on them and the likely customers will be OAPs. I'm not sure how much they're into buying pens?

I'm going to look into costs as last time I made some it cost about £10 to buy the materials and that was just for a slimline pen with a nice box and wood blank. Given a lot of the better pen kits themselves are quite expensive I'm not sure if it's going to be cost effective?

I am a novice so some of the more complicated pens are probably out. I've only done slimline kits so far as gifts but I'm guessing others are more popular for selling?

- What I was wondering was what would be the best kits to use?

- How much you would sell that pen for?

Thanks for any advice,

Jennifer

I'm going to do some boxes Jen, A little simpler and less outlay (you only need some timber) let's face it, you are doing these craft fairs on speculation and if you are left with a bunch of pens after spending a lot of money (you can't go to a craft fair with five pens) it could be an expensive outing.

Andy