12T or 18T plunge blade for ripping hardwood etc

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodenstx

Established Member
Reaction score
I've been sing my TS55 for sheet goods for nearly 2 years now, all has been fine.
At the weekend I had a go at cutting strips of american walnut and canadian maple, the saw really struggled.
In the end I made 5mm passes to get to depth (no more than 30mm)

Yes the blade it came with could do with a sharpen, but I dont doubt its the wrong blade for the job anyway.

So, onto the internet, seems there is a 12T panther blade and an 18T one.
12T
http://www.powertool-supplies.co.uk/fes ... -pw12.html
18T
https://www.ffx.co.uk/tools/product/Fes ... X-20-X-18T

Will one be better or worse than the other etc?

I have not used either blade in my TS55 so can't speak from experience but since nobody has replied I will give you my opinion.

The Panther blade is designed for ripping down the grain, it has obviously fewer teeth and a more aggressive geometry so will cut quicker and easier with the grain. I guess the cut won't be as clean but I presume you will be planing it up so this won't matter.

If it is just for ripping I would go with the Panther.

If you haven't already check out the Festool Owners Group, I'm sure there will be pages about it on there.

Doug

I have the 12T one linked above and, for rip cuts in solid wood, the difference between it and the 48T crosscut blade is night and day. As Doug points out, the quality of the cut isn't nearly as clean (it's not bad mind you) but it doesn't take much to sort out, you're not taxing the motor nearly as much and you're warm and fuzzy knowing you're using the right blade for the job ;)