Yew tree feld and in yard, what do I do now?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oh Yew

Reaction score
Hello all, I've been turning For about 2 years now and I can't stop collecting wood, I've just felled a 25 ft yew and I could do with help in the best way to store it. Also would like to meet other turners in my area (Market Harborough, Leic ) Thans Eric.

Most important seal the ends of cut logs with old paint or melted wax ASAP.

Keep it in as long a length as possible until you can get round to deciding what you wish to use it for.

If logs are large diameter consider splitting them in half to reduce the risk of core splitting.

Don't cut any logs shorter than about 1/3 longer than the diameter to reduce wastage from any end splitting that may/will occur.

Don't remove Bark, store out of direct sunlight to slow surface drying down, preferably under cover but with good air movement.

If you have facility consider slabbing some of it at about 75mm thick, avoid incorporating core material in slab. Make sure end grain is well sealed, leave side grain unsealed to aid drying.

Edit:
There are some other comments on the subject in the Safety and Help sticky at the top of this forum

https://www.ukworkshop.co.uk/forums/view ... 839#349839

Hello Old Yew, welcome to the forum.
I can't answer your questions about storage, but if it helps, I'll take it all off your hands and save you the bother of drying it!!!
I do a bit of turning, but I'm very much a beginner. I work in Market Harborough. I know a few others on here live in the county (Richard Findley for one).
Any pictures of your work?

hello and welocme

i'm not a million miles away from you-i'm near coalville.

the only thing i'd add to chas's excellent advice is to reduce the airflow in the storage area- as more air flow= faster drying = more splitting.

Hello there and welcome to the forum.