Shaker Style Cabinet Side with flat inner face

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drummerian

Reaction score
Hi all,

Disclaimer!:
I am new to woodworking (at least in a furniture sense, plenty of DIY experience) but keen to learn, a shoe rack design has caught my eye and I've decided to have a go.

I can't post links to the youtube tutorial on my account but the end product should end up looking something a little like the attached image.
DIY-Shoe-Storage-Bench-for-Entryway (1).jpg

I have a problem with the design that I am hoping to get some help with. I love the shaker look and this fits the style of house that this project is going in to. I will be going for '90 degree' shaker without the moulding as used in the example above. The main issue I have with the materials available to me is achieving a 'flat backed' inner face (this will aid with shelf cutting and mounting) while not having too deep of a shaker recess on the outer face.

Because this was a little more difficult to explain I have thrown together a quick diagram (attached, any thoughts on what would be best/other options! I am using 2x2 for the stiles (which measures 44mm) and probably the rails also (wood sizing doesn't seem to work out quite as well as in the example video), then plan to use an 18mm plywood panel (should I be considering MDF for this?):
woodWorking.png

The design above uses pocket hole joinery, I am aware this is not often a favoured technique (perhaps I watch too much Matthias Wandel) but I would like to give it a go and it feels like a nice intro to my first proper furniture project. Another query I have is that will I get away with using pocket holes to attach the ply panel to the timber framework, I worry about differing wood movement (cracking paint etc).

Thanks in advance!
Ian

Attachments

• woodWorking.png
    woodWorking.png
    23.7 KB · Views: 528