Difference between Isopropyl and Meths.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rorschach

Reaction score
I have and use both, but they seem to be fairly interchangeable. Can I get away with just one of them? Are there any jobs you have come across where one works better than the other? The fact I am not keen on the smell of meths is a consideration too.

I used to be an organic chemist, so I can give you some information from the technical point of view, but I do not know how this translates to your practical concerns....

Chemically the two are very similar. Meths is actually ethyl alcohol (with added poison to stop folks drinking it). The molecules have a water-loving end (the alcohol bit) and a water hating end (the other bit of the name). The isopropyl end is slightly bigger and therefore slightly more water-hating than the ethyl bit, but this has little effect - the alcohol bit loves water so much that it overcomes the resistance.

Isopropyl alcohol will disolve greasy (water hating) stuff a little more easily than will ethyl alcohol. It will also dissolve in fatty tissues a little bit easier, and be harder for the body to remove.

The larger size (heavier weight) of the isopropyl molecule will make it less likely to evapourate - probably why it smells less. This also makes it slightly less of a fire risk.

Isopropyl alcohol is considered more toxic than ethyl alcohol.

Otherwise the differences are pretty small from a chemical point of view.

Ipa doesn't leave a residue which is a major plus in cleaning applications if you need a truly clean surface. I think (don't know) I'm right in saying that meths will leave a residue which may or may not be a problem depending on your intentions.