Which Table Saw?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigDean

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Morning all,

For months now I have been looking at which table saw to buy for my single garage workshop. I am new to the craft, so cant give a definitive answer to "what will you be using it for"....

I guess it is to make accurate cuts on mdf/ply and small hardwood projects. I have a track saw system set up to rip 8x4 sheets down to manageable sizes, so have no illusions of using the table saw for that.

What I really don't want is an inaccurate / fiddly saw. Budget is not the most important criteria.

I think my list is whittled down to:

Dewalt 7485
This is on the list as the budget option to "get me going". I know I will outgrow, but should I start at this level and work up?

Axminster AW254
Seems like most people think this is a good entry level cast iron unit. Some complain about the fence etc, but seems to be a hit and miss. Can be built into my own workbench in the future. Accessories mean I can add the sliding table if I ever need it, and modify the left side extension to work on the right side for larger capacity.

Lumberjack TS1800
Probably too big for my space, but seems to get reasonable reviews for a fair price (before recent price increases). Good capacity. Cast iron.

Festool CSC SYS 50
Seems like the most accurate small saw you can get, but is the capacity going to be annoying.

I honestly don't think I have found "the one" that makes me place an order immediately.

Any others people could recommend? Comments on the above welcome.

Thanks
BigDean.

The Ax AW254 is a decent saw but if you’re going to build it into a bench you lose any advantage of its small size/portability. I had a similar small saw and then bought a SIP 01332 which I really do like, so maybe something like this could be considered.