Woodworking artist from Istanbul

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oymadan

Reaction score
Hey, my name is Alpaslan. I am a woodworking artist from Istanbul with around 35 years of experience. Recently, I have developed an interest in communicating outside of my country and exchanging ideas from other cultures. I especially love to learn historical development of furniture style in western culture.

Hi there

Is there any particular style you are interested in or just the history of its development ?

I think at least from an early perspective it was more utilitarian, that leading to as the culture formed and the rich became more prevalent into luxury goods that were more about how they looked that how they performed as a piece of furniture.

A great Scottish designer was Charles Rennie Mackintosh..
If you keep in mind that the usual style of his era was quite drab, so his having pure white rooms were not just a shock to the system, but a time of enlightenment.

https://www.dezeen.com/2018/06/06/house-for-an-art-lover-charles-rennie-mackintosh-architecture/

Last edited:
Welcome, I'd be interested to see some of your work and workshop please.
I will take some photos of my workshop in the next few days. Meanwhile, I posted some projects I finished recently under "Projects" as "Victorian Era Easels". Thank you all for warming welcome :)

Hi there

Is there any particular style you are interested in or just the history of its development ?

I think at least from an early perspective it was more utilitarian, that leading to as the culture formed and the rich became more prevalent into luxury goods that were more about how they looked that how they performed as a piece of furniture.

A great Scottish designer was Charles Rennie Mackintosh..