Woodturning design software

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Neil Farrer

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm sure that there are several, if not more, out there in e space that would baulk at the idea of using an electronic design medium but for some such as myself establishing scale and balance is not that easy, I am not a natural artist. Although I can read architectural plans, visualise them in 3D (my day job is designing wooden structures), working the other way round and designing a mainly artistic driven item is a problem. Sure, experience would rectify this but as Oscar Wilde said, experience is the name we give to our mistakes and I would rather use wisdom, described in this context as watching others have experiences!

To that end I have experimented with one version of woodturning software but wondered what other members might recommend. I am not into segmented turning and have used creative woodturner with some success. I am not looking for a CAD (computer aided design( style of software but an imaging software such as CW.

Any views out there in e space?

Hi Neil Try and get your hands on a book on wood turning by Hugh O' Neill and read the section / chapter Dynamic symmetry. I found this very interesting and helpful.Regards Rogerc

COPY COPY COPY is the answer to most design problems - and you learn about the art/design process as you go.
Resist the urge to be creative or original until you have no alternative!