WoodRat versus the new Router Boss

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aldel

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I don't know if there are still any WoodRat users amongst the members here now but I thought you may like to know about a new competitor that will soon be available.
The Router Boss from the Craftsman Gallery looks like it will address all the little problems that the WoodRat had and be even more versatile too. Martin Godfrey now has some serious competition.
Lewis has allowed me to post some excellent engineering renderings on my 'Rat site http://www.aldel.co.uk/Router_Boss.htm.
I would be interested to hear your comments.

Aldel

Wow with all that green you might be fooled into thinking this is a Festool product!

Looks interesting.

Finally!

The woodrat advertises that it's 'designed by woodworkers' and it shows. As an engineer I'm delighted to see a product that appears to be 'designed by engineers'

When will you be getting a freebie Adel?

Aidan

Looks pretty exciting!

Just shows what happens when a company resolutely refuses to listen to the marketplace - someone will eat your lunch.

It looks interesting and probably expensive?
Cannot see me upgrading to it from from my Rat though - I do not use it enough to justify the outlay!

Rod

It does look interesting - particularly the improved fixing capability.
Look forward to a Adel review!

(Still a RAT user) John
PS I wonder if the WR patents apply and have been ignored or it is sufficiently different......

Harbo":19qzzw60 said:
It looks interesting and probably expensive? ..........

Rod

$699 - $799 based on length of beam so broadly in line with the WR. Bet that it will cost the same number of £'s tho' when imported into the UK. I wonder how heavy it is and how much excess baggage I'd have to pay to buy one on holiday and bring it home?

RogerM":oarax7yj said: