wooden window making

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattyboy007

Reaction score
hello
I'm new to wood working and have a question.
I need to router the inside of a window frame just like the picture I've attached.
How do I get the routed corners to look square as a router will only do rounded corners.
Thanks in advance
Matt

Attachments

• FR-inside-small.jpg
    FR-inside-small.jpg
    70.7 KB · Views: 544
Those joints are either scribed or mitred and are cut prior to assembly (in that particular joint I would strongly suggest scribed).

You will not get the same effect if you route the mould following glue up except if you carve out the corner rounding. However if you do this (and it will be extremely time consuming and arguably slower that doing the job right prior to glue up) you will end up with some exposed endgrain similar to a masons mitre

Actually having a look at your picture again. are you refering to the glazing bar mould or the frame mould.

If its the glazing bar mould you are not going to get a router to cut the mould within approx 75mm of the frame (depending on your router), if its the frame then again you will have to carve out the round exposing endgrain but with the larger section over the glazing bar this should be easier.

hello thanks for the info.
I was refering to the routered curve nearest to my bit of paper shown at the bottom of the picture. So the curve on the frame, not the glazzing bars.

I understand how to do a miter joint which as you say will work. Can you point me to somewhere online where I can see how to make a scribed joint. I'm not sure I know what that is.

I want to use the strongest joint possible.
Thanks again
much appreciated
Matt