White mould on stored oak planks

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SteveB71

Reaction score
Hi all, im a complete newbie when it comes to wood, I found some cheap 3m oak planks which i want to use on the outside of a steam room. They are stored in a dry garage, they have White mould on them! What’s the best way to treat this, I’ve read bleach will not sink in and that a vinegar solution sprayed on would give better results. Will this completely cure the problem? Thanks.

If you work with metal, it maybe worth considering that it might be possible that your oak might react with the vinegar and stain it black.
I wonder what would happen if the old school woodworm preventative of borax powder
was applied?
Just asking, and in no way a suggestion.
Would be a two birds solution if it worked?

Thanks
Tom

Picture would be interesting to see how serious the problem is. Probably just wiping the mould with a bleach solution would be enough. It's unlikely to be anything damaging to the wood. Sounds like it is just surface mould, so bleach should do the job. You can get mould killers, but I would try bleach solution first.

You can also kill mould with methylated spirits. It's not acidic, so no danger of a reaction with the tannins in the wood. Also dries more quickly, which is handy.