Which osmo polyx do you use?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jmac80

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all

About to order a few litres of osmo poly-x I have never used osmo before but read it's the business.
I will be using it mainly on American white oak and a bit of pine.
I originally thought i'd go for raw matt but thinking about it maybe clear matt satin would make for a nicer finish.

What osmo finish do you all prefer and why?

I use clear matt most of the time. If you want a slight sheen you can achieve this by applying a third coat (normally I only do two) and leaving it to go slightly sticky before buffing it off like a madman.
Otherwise like I said it's just two coats. it's great to use - very easy, no sweating and puffing, no elbow grease. Just wipe or brush it on and then wipe it off. Simples. I guess if you layer it up more you get more protection but I've never really needed more than two coats, even for a commercial bar top.

better off ordering the 5ml samples and testing it out as it's bloody expensive?
got a few of the tints/and the clear one and wasn't really that impressed at least on the pine, the fiddes range gave much better results to me.

Be aware not everyone loves it. I bought some off the back of all the good press it gets and have been disappointed. First used it on a cherry table and it did not bring out the depth of colour I expect with cherry then a friend used it on his American white oak counter top which I had made. All looked good but a year on it looks dirty but doesn't clean off like it would if a good oil had been used. I will still use it on pale woods where I don't want depth of colour or yellowing that you might get with oil but for a nice rich colour and easy to clean finish I will stick with Liberon finishing oil.

Hello all,