What MDF

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vinny

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm in the sketchup stage of designing a new computer desk/storage facility/general area for dumping everyone elses rubbish. (we've all got one of those) that will live at one end of my dining room.

The plan at the mo is to make the basic cabinets and hutch (??) from mdf which will be painted/sprayed (new spraying toy coming soon) with the drawers, cupboard doors and desk top from recycled solid oak flooring.

This is my first project which could be described as "furniture", everything thus far has been "functional" - shelf units and cupboards for the utility room, shoe racks for another nondescript area of my house, boxing in of pipework and the list goes on.

So down to the main question, what type of mdf for the units? From what I've read (and i've done some reading on this - i'm onto my third set of eyes already). So far i've only used stuff from the sheds and TP, this has that lovely fluffy edge which i've been using sealer and primer on to get to some sort of finish.

Robbins in Bristol do Medite MDF, is this the stuff I should be going for or should I continue down the fluffy edge route sealing, priming and sanding as i go.

As always thanks in advance for any advice.

Vinny

Edit. I may add that I'm sure this has probably been covered at length and i have looked but the search facility and me speak a different language. Apologies for possibly going over old ground

I would recommend that you use a good brand of moisture resistant MDF - it is recognisable by the green colouring which is added to the mix.

Medite is one of the best, but make sure you specify moisture resisant or MR MDF.

As for paints, the best primer you will find is Morrells AC white primer. Two coats with a good sand in between will give a perfect surface for your top coat.