Varnish Smell Wooden Box

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wwade

Established Member
Reaction score
I have made a large wooden box with lid for the kitchen to put our shoes and bags in.
It's my first project and has been a great learning curve.

I finished the unit yesterday inside and out with clear varnish. I put the box in the kitchen this evening, and when I opened the lid the varnish smell was so overpowering I have ended up putting it in the shed with the lid off overnight.

Any tips on how long it takes for the smell to go away? I'm wondering if I should have varnished it inside at all now and whether that small might rub off to the contents.

Your tips, help would be greatly appreciated. I will put a couple of photos up when I can the photos off my phone.

of no help now, but it is usually recommended not to varnish or oil the inside of drawers or boxes, for this reason. hopefully it will go as the varnish fully cures.

If I were you I would bring it back into the house and put it somewhere warm and dry. That should help the varnish cure completely. Although it's mild for December the air will be much moister in your shed than in the house.

wwade":1efv4uzy said:
Any tips on how long it takes for the smell to go away?
Unfortunately that's a "How long is a piece of string?" It takes as long as your individual conditions dictate: so varnish type (some are far smellier than others!), any dilution, temperature and humidity and air flow all play a part.

wwade":1efv4uzy said:
I'm wondering if I should have varnished it inside at all now