Steam bending/laminating maple--might it work?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GarF

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm making a small staked chair for one of my girls, and to extend my skills I'd quite like to steam bend the crest rail rather than carving it out of a large blank. Since this is my first attempt at a chair I'm using up some maple which has been sitting on a shelf for several years since I decided against the project I planned to use it for.

The cross section of the rail will be 2½" x ¾" which I very much doubt I could bend. However, I thought it might be possible to resaw/plane down to ¼" and then steam and laminate a stack of three.

Firstly is there any reason this approach would be doomed to failure (before I commit to prepping the stock)? And secondly any recommendation for best glue for this operation? I've got titebond 1, titebond3, some titebond liquid hide (out of date) or resintite (cascamite?) on the shelf, have already discounted gorilla PU as inappropriate. Oh, there's some West epoxy up there too.
Cheers
G

I can't see any advantage in combining the two methods of bending, but laminating the desired shape would work well. It would be better to make up the thickness with at least 6 layers of thinner laminate and preferably more. The thinner and more numerous the laminates the better. Cascamite is ideal for the job. You need to allow for some degree of spring back when the piece is removed from the formers after the glue has set.

In your favour is the fact that your crest rail doesn't have to conform to a precise curve, the beauty of windsor/welsh/staked chairs is that you've got a lot of wiggle room. So a bit of spring back, or a former that isn't curved exactly as you might wish, aren't too serious.