Spontaneous combustion?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

White House Workshop

Established Member
Reaction score
Today I received another litre of tung oil and it came with the now familiar warning that rags and cloths soaked in it can spontaneously combust. I've been using this oil for getting on for 20 years now and have had quite a lot of rags, both oily and dried out, lying around and none of them have ever shown the slightest sign of bursting into flames. Maybe it's because they're usually left open rather than scrumpled up or in large quantities, sometimes on a bench or even on the floor, to dry out, and some have simply been thrown away.

So what do you think is the real scoop on this spontaneous combustion statement?

Incidentally, the bench tops from Sarah are looking totally amazing after their third thick coat of oil! Should be dry in a couple of days then I can buff the final coat.

A quick bit of google fo woudl suggest that oils like linseed and such like dry by oxidation rather than evapouration. Not quite sure how that works, but oxidation is an exothermic reaction (gives off heat) and so there is the potential for it to generate enough heat to ignite.

Brilliant.

I will now feel much better about delivering the time honoured and oft repeated warning to my students.

David Charlesworth

I could not have explained it better than that.
However, if any of you are tempted to ignore the warnings please think again. It can and does happen. I have been involved in the burning buildings that resulted on more than one occasion.
Cheers.

SF

I used to work in property insurance many moons ago and I too have witnessed the aftermath of oily rags igniting. I seem to recall that rags of an organic nature are more prone to spontaneous combustion than those made of synthetic fibres.