Snapped Tuff Saw Blade - :-(

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

twodoctors

Established Member
Reaction score
Using my Tuff Saw Carbon 3/16" 4TPI blade for the second time yesterday, and as the title says, it snapped on me.

Snapped mid cut.jpg

I wasn't making big turns, and was cutting slowly (after coaching from Steve Maskery). The only other cuts I've made was to make this box.

the other project using Tuff Saw blade.jpg

Now I'm no expert at bandsaw but I think it snapped at the joint... a rare manufacturing defect for Tuff Saw I'm sure. There weren't any signs of scraping etc. The guides were set up correct.

Outer part of blade.jpg

Inner part of blade.jpg

Emailed Ian last night. Tried calling this am but no answer. Hopefully it's not me...

The other thing to say is the kerf is quite big with 4tpi. I wonder whether I'm better off with 6TPI next time...

Adrian

Attachments

• Snapped mid cut.jpg
    Snapped mid cut.jpg
    153.4 KB · Views: 382
  • the other project using Tuff Saw blade.jpg
    the other project using Tuff Saw blade.jpg
    175 KB · Views: 382
  • Outer part of blade.jpg
    Outer part of blade.jpg
    118.8 KB · Views: 382
  • Inner part of blade.jpg
    Inner part of blade.jpg
    133 KB · Views: 382
That seems a very aggressive TPI for such a small blade and deep curves. For bandsaw boxes type work you're better off with something like 14tpi. What does your bandsaw say is the minimum width blade it can take?

Take a look on the TuffSaws website at 'Cutting Types' and then 'Radius/Cutting Shapes' for blade recommendations.

I bought a Axminster 10TPI 1/4" for that purpose but it won't turn steep enough, and even then it was burning rather that cutting. Tried to complete my project with it last night as it just won't turn / cut. Swapped it for the original 1/4" 6TPI and it was no better turning-wise. 14TPI would be hopeless.