Simple Bookcase

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve Peacock

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a beginner woodworker (both flat stuff and turning) from Durban in South Africa. I've been hanging around here for a while now, but haven't gotten around to posting much.

For the last couple of months, I've been working on a bookcase for my daughter's bedroom. It's quite simple and just held together with biscuits. I've tried to add some pics ... I hope it works (but I doubt it will).

21032011268.jpg

21032011271.jpg

The piece is made from East African camphorwood, with some 3 mm hardboard for the back. The wood has a strong camphor smell and quite beautiful grain - there's even some "shimmer" in parts. I tried to achieve a "Greene and Greene" look. Originally, I wanted to have the shelves attached to the sides with wedged through-mortices (two per shelf on each end), but I couldn't pull it off well enough and ended up simplifying the design.

It's finished with four coats of boiled linseed oil, then two coats of polyurethane diluted with linseed oil, then a coat of paste wax.

Cheers
Steve

Attachments

• 21032011268.jpg
    21032011268.jpg
    213.7 KB · Views: 247
  • 21032011271.jpg
    21032011271.jpg
    226.6 KB · Views: 247
That's a nice looking piece of furniture. I'd definitely be happy to have that in my living room. What are the little details on the top back panel?

Thanks. They're square pegs of African Blackwood. In Greene & Greene furniture, they'd be actual pegs inserted into the wood (usually to peg tenons) - but I couldn't achieve that easily using the tools I had available, so they're just applied to the surface. They were shaped by rotating them against a sanding disc at an angle (using a jig) - so that they are slightly pointed on top.