Simple bookcase - advice please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trumpetmonkey

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I have a commission to design and build a simple low, floorstanding 2 shelf bookcase for the corner of a kitchen, for a collection of cookery books.

Please offer me any advice you can - suggestions for a cost effective approach, and what you would consider a fair labour price. I work with wood but I am a relative novice to furniture making.

I am thinking of presenting 2 options
1: very basic and easy and cheap - Maple veneered MDF panel construction using Miller dowels and iron on edge veneer. (comments?)
2: Real wood, with some nice detailing, hidden biscuit joints.

Thanks

Hi Alastair

I guess the question really has to be

1/ 'how much does the client want to pay for it?', then you can decide what materials and construction methods.

2/ Regarding labour charges, is the 'client' a friend who is going to want 'friends rates' or can you charge a fair rate?

3/ What is your skill level? By that I mean how quickly can you realistically complete it to a saleable standard? This will also be a factor because you could decide on a labour rate of £15-20ph but if you are such a spaz (like me ;)) that it takes you 20 hours when it would take a more capable person 5 then you might make it too expensive for anyone to be able to afford.

4/ Lastly, is this for making a living or for some pocket money?

If the answer to I would find out the answer to the first (and second) question, then number 4, then you can decide how much you want to make out of the job, after materials, then find out whether it is realistic.

Sorry if that isn't very helpful but it's probably the way I would go about it. :D

Hi Mark, Thanks for replying.