saw blades

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

essexcowboy

Established Member
Reaction score
advice please...what are the best blades to use when cutting thin ply. the reason i ask is when cutting thin ply i am breaking the thinner parts of the pattern, i turned the speed down low but it makes no difference i am using 18 and 24 tpi blades i got from machine mart. have looked around and now even more confused by the variety of blades. and as you probably guessed i am a newbie to scrolling
after reading a couple of posts i think it maybe the ply i am using. got it from wickes so probably not the best :(

Hi,
I don't actually cut thin materials so can't help with the size/type of blades suitable but for quality i find the Pegas and Olsen brand blades are good quality.
There should be some of the scroller guys along soon who will know more about it.
Cheers and welcome to the forum
Brian
ps you will find decent blades will make a big difference in your work so worth getting some, also can you use pinless blades?

You may find that it is not so much the blade that is causing the damage but the insert plate and the aperture being to big. If this is the case the thin plywood is not being supported when it is close to the blade. You can make a new insert from a variety of materials and make a zero clearance hole flor the blade. If you got your blades from machine mart then the chances are that they are not much good. As Brian said, Olsen and Pegas blades are very good or you could try Niqua blades from Hobbies. With thin ply the make of blade does not really matter but a quality blade does. I would go for number 3 and number 5 blades. The 5s you can use to cut the outside shapes as you have more control with a 5 in keeping to the line of the pattern and you can use the 3 blades for your internal cuts.

Hi ,