Sash windows

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chippy mark

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi this is my first post on here :)

I have a rotten sliding sash to replace so am going to make a new one,has anybody got any tips that would help me?

If you require any help or guidance, don't hestitate to PM me. I make these for a living everyday, so sure I can help.

If I had any tips for you.....

Trench the stiles into the head & cill.
Notch out the cill for front and back fascias.
Cut out axel pulleys before assembly.
Cut out pockets on a 45degree cut, and remember not to glue the fascia to it!!!!
Have a think about anything you may want to include such as brush seal & plastic parting bead, before you start.

clewlowm":wco3tk7e said:
the pockets should have a shoulder. not a mitre?

When I do my pockets.....

I cut down with the chop saw on a 45degree to the point of the parting bead. Then I cut out using the bandsaw. Then just mitre a new piece in, countersink and pre-drill.... then screw. If it is sitting proud, the stile still needs sanding anyway, and I have the use of a drum sander. If no drum sander though, a belt sander/ orbital works equally well. This is the quickest way to do it in my opinion, as I said, I do it for a living so time=money.

always rebate joint. you don't want screws in a pocket, if it' mitred, there is a chance it could work loose, i was trained in the north 22 years ago. and have never seen a mitre on a pocket.

clewlowm":1m2a7qzw said:
always rebate joint. you don't want screws in a pocket, if it' mitred, there is a chance it could work loose, i was trained in the north 22 years ago. and have never seen a mitre on a pocket.

Nor me either

just for the record mr sim, i own a small joinery company. all i do is sliding sash. i do make money, i understand your opinion, just don't agree with it.

regards mike